How to edit your self-published novels and short stories

Thanks to some of the members of Definitive Serious Writers Group on LinkedIn for pointing out my greatest flaw as a writer, which is the lack of an editor. Being a self published writer I lack in some of the basic grammatical skills. I’m okay with that only because I know these basic skills but I focus more on the story, which I believe is my best skill as a writer. However to make it a fun read for my readers I must do better because of the lack of an editor. I will be rereading all my work from my book Happy Face (which was in print and is available as an e-book for all e-readers)
to my shorter fiction. Maybe it will make my voice clearer to my reader plus it will make room for the deliberate things I do with words to stand out more.

So to answer the title of this post ‘How to edit your self-published novels and short stories’ it’s simple take your time to read over your work a few times and take advice from your readers and brush up on the things you may have forgotten. Or you could get your work picked up by a major publisher where they have good editors. But this is for the people who either choose or was force to go the self-published route; which I have been noticing is the new and cool way to go. Believe it’s rough but if you believe in yourself and have skills and never stop trying, you’ll have success, if now success at the least someone other than family and friends will have read your work even if it’s 10 or 10,000 people. Checkout my work on this site and maybe you’ll buy one of my e-books.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “How to edit your self-published novels and short stories

Leave a Reply

